The Beginning of: 3D Tree

For this project I will have two trees. The first one will be 2D on canvas 24″x36″. I will incorporate the first name of each person in the family along with their birth/death dates where appropriate. The colors on this will be organic: various browns and natural summer greens. I plan to use paper, fabrics,altered arts stuff and paint. I want it to have a lot of texture, but without being 3D.

For the second tree, I am currently building the main structure. I have old mailing/poster tubes from my grandfather’s photographic estate, and newspapers/acrylic paints from my parents. I have wire from them as well. The mailing tubes I have had for almost 5 years. I’ve moved them back and for one side of the country to the other, always believing that at some point I would find a way to use them. The time has finally come! The tubes measure:

24″ long

2″ diameter

I am using newspaper and a mix of Aleen’s Tacky Glue with water. I figure I’ll need several sturdy layers and then I’ll start adding on limbs…. I’m not positive how I will be doing it, kind of winging it I suppose… In the end I know it’s going to work out! After the basic structure of the branches I’ll be using wooden twine that I bought for a 3D Sculpture class I took as an undergrad at Nazareth College.

It’s interesting how the different supplies are coming together from different parts of my life! The only thing I am missing is something to set this tree on. I want it to be on a wooden bar chair – perhaps the taller one- I am envisioning the roots to be wrapped around the the legs of the stool… like an octopus holding on to the chair almost… if that makes any sense at all…. In using the tubes I can make the overall size I’d like without the added weight if say I was going to use wood, or clay. I have decided that I will need to weight the bottom of the tree, though I don’t quite know how I will accomplish that yet.

Mailing Tubes

Mailing Tubes

The Tubes

The Tubes

And, the other supplies I have set up:

Wooden Reeds

Wooden Reeds

Newspapers

Newspapers

Mix of Glues

Mix of Glues

I will use the orange bucket to mix the Aleene’s Tacky Glue and the Matte Modge Podge.

Leave a Reply

2013

February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  
daisy yellow

finding my way through an artistic legacy

The Rainbow Elephant

Doodles, Sketches and Scribbles from Cindy

Blog.SuzanneMcNeill.com

Just another WordPress.com site

Dog Under My Desk

Patterns, Tutorials and More!

Oopsey Daisy

finding my way through an artistic legacy

